WordDocGenerator

Rating:        Based on 7 ratings
Reviewed:  7 reviews
Downloads: 12843
Released: Jan 24, 2012
Updated: Jan 31, 2012 by atul_nith
Dev status: Stable Help Icon

Recommended Download

Source Code WordDocGenerator solution
source code, 2541K, uploaded Jan 31, 2012 - 12843 downloads

Release Notes

The purpose of creating this utility was to use the Open Xml 2.0 SDK to generate Word documents based on predefined templates using minimum code changes. These documents can either be refreshable or non- refreshable. This utility is kind of POC/Samples rather than a full-fledged framework. A few samples for generating Word 2010 documents have been provided. More samples can be added later as per feedback.

Sample that shows how to refresh a document from within Word has been added
Samples that generate Word documents using XmlNode data using XPath and data bound content controls have been added
Samples that generate Word documents using data bound content controls have been added
Sample that generates documents having Charts(Line Chart & Scatter Chart) has been added
Sample that generates documents using generic Xml has been added. I will update documentation in a week.

Reviews for this release

     
Great tool. The examples were a bit difficult to understand at first because they are all combined in one huge code. But once you get the feel on how to use it, it is really neat. Great job! Thanks very much for this free tool.
by frankfajardo on Jan 3, 2014 at 4:51 AM
     
A great tool for generating word templates. Modified the code to handle images as part of the template. Our users can now generate their own templates and export data with ultimate flexability. Thanks for all your hard work.
by stonecourier on Sep 2, 2012 at 10:32 AM
     
I'm just starting a new project for a client that requires this exact thing. Amazing! What a time saver for me!
by kahanu on Feb 11, 2012 at 10:59 PM
     
Pretty useful, I'm already using it on a live project. Thanks Atul!
by shenoyroopesh on Feb 2, 2012 at 2:53 PM
     
Very good utility. Simple and practical to understand!
by jwcspb on Jan 26, 2012 at 3:48 AM
     
Nice work and very good solution. The samples covers most of the cases of document generation using OpenXml. If possible add more samples on complex documents e.g. documents having editing restrictions. Thanks !
by abhijan on Jan 24, 2012 at 7:38 PM
     
I found the samples to be quite useful and a lot of ways are provided to generate a document both standalone as well as refreshable. Also lot of samples are provided. I wish samples showing more complex documents also gets included e.g. adding/updating charts inside Word etc.
by parulp on Jan 18, 2012 at 3:52 AM